My favourite books ever for new readers

The beautiful characters of Houndsley with his “soft as a rose petal” voice and his best friend Catina face a few challenges in this lovely series of books now in the library. They show extreme tolerance, courage, friendship and kindness – Houndsley faces real disappointment when he doesn’t do as well as he expected in a cooking competition, Catina finally learns to swim, they both overcome sadness at not knowing when their birthdays are and a snow storm teaches them the gift of the quiet time.

“Yes,” Catina said. “First I will find something I like to do. Then I will do it and do it and do it until I am very good at it. And then I might be famous.”

“I know something you are good at already,” said Houndsley, “although you will never be famous for it.”

“What?”

“Being my friend.”

 

 

This entry was posted in Junior Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to leave a comment. You don't need to leave your name or email address, just press Send!

